We have embedded the use of Edublogs into many of our degree programmes to encourage Marjon students to develop their online presence and digital competencies prior to graduating. Students have also been encouraged to create sites which can market themselves to prospective employers. We’ve always been there for Marjon students beyond graduation and as part of our ongoing digital support for alumni we’ll continue to support access to Edublogs for up to two years after you graduate. After leaving the University, users will be able to choose what happens to their websites. They’ll remain publicly available and editable or users can make them private or download the contents to be restored on another platform or just delete them. The choice is yours.
Students will also still have access to our support pages where you’ll find help with setting up a site, adding content and customisation, or look below for more help with managing your site once you’ve graduated.
Once you reach the end of your studies at Marjon you can keep your Marjon Edublogs site for 2 years. Once this 2 years ends you will have the option to export your blog into a different platform, otherwise you account will be deleted. We hope that by continuing to use the site you will gain from the support available, including the guides available on our elearning & TEL help site, to develop your site.
Change Admin Email
When you leave the University you may want to change the admin email address on your site, this will mean that you will still receive alerts and emails once you have stopped using your Marjon student email address.
To change the admin email address on your site, log into the dashboard and navigate to the Settings > General Settings options.
You can put in a different email address and by clicking ‘Save changes’ it will send you a confirmation email to the new email address to confirm the change.
Change your Privacy Settings
Once you graduate your site will be automatically made public, this means that anyone can access your site and that it can be found through a search engine. If you want to keep your site private you can change the Site Visibility settings from the Settings > Reading Settings options.
The different options include:
Allow search engines to index this site – This will make the site fully public and will allow it to be found through search engines, such as google.
Discourage search engines from indexing this site – This will make the site public but will mean the site will request to not be found through search engines. This does not guarantee that it definitely won’t be included in a google search.
Visitors must have a login – The site is not public but can be accessed by any University of St Mark & St John users, they will have to login to view the site.
Only registered users of this site can have access – You can specify particular University of St Mark and St John users who can access the site, they will have to log in to access the site.
Only Administrators can visit – This settings will mean that the site is only accessible by administrators of the site. This will mean that the live site can be viewed for testing purposes but will not be live to the public.
Password protected – This means the site is not public but can be accessed by anyone with the password even if they are not a user. Users do not have to log in to access to the site.
Exporting your content
Before your account is deleted the contents of the blog can be exported and then imported into another platform, WordPress for example.
Exporting the file will create an XML file which can be imported into another platform.
To access the Export options open the tools menu from the left hand side and select the Export option.
This will open options for you to select which parts of your blog you want to export. If you are planning to import your posts into a completely different platform, not a WordPress based platform, then you may want to only export your posts and media. Layouts and other specific content may not import into an different platform.
Clicking the download export file button will download the XML file directly to your computer.
You can import the contents of your blog into a free or paid WordPress account, or another platform of your choice (although the import process may be different). The theme for your blog will not be carried across, although WordPress does have a number of the same themes, it may be necessary to choose a different theme once it has been imported.
To import directly into Wordpress blog/site you can use the Settings menu, on the new blog, to select the import settings and select the file to import.