The Premier League Hall of Fame

The Premier League Hall of Fame recognises and honours former players who have an exceptional record of on-pitch success and have shown contribution to the league since its inception in 1992.

Only players who are retired are eligible. To be eligible for induction in 2021, players must have been retired by August 1, 2020.

-How many players will be inducted?

In 2021, the Premier League Hall of Fame will welcome only eight inductees. Two of them have already been selected. Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry are the two players who will inaugurate the Hall of Fame.

What is going to happen with the shortlist next year?

There has been some controversy with this because some fans believe that the shortlist will stay the same for the next coming years. The Premier League has said that the shortlist will vary year after year because at the end of every season players retire and will become eligible. The English and Manchester United icon, Wayne Rooney, is the second highest goal scorer in the history of Premier League with 208 goals. He did not make it into the 23-player shortlist because he retired on January 2021, making him not eligible for the 2021 induction. This doesn’t mean he will never be part of the Hall of Fame, he will just be unable to be selected in the 2021 induction.

What is the selection criteria?

Firstly, they must be retired. For this 2021 induction it has to be before 1 August 2020.

(For this award the trajectory of the player in the Premier League will only be taken into account. The appearances in other competitions or in any other abroad league will not be considered.)

  • Players must have made a minimum of 250 Premier League appearances unless they have achieved any of the following milestones:
  • 200 appearances for one club
  • Selected to any Premier League Team of the Decade or 20 Anniversary teams.
  • Won a Premier League Golden Boot or Golden Glove
  • Voted as Premier League Player of the Season
  • Won three Premier Leagues
  • Scored 100 Premier Leagues goals or kept 100 clean sheets (only GKs)


How will the inductees be selected?

The inductees will be chosen by a combination of a public/online voting through the Premier Leagues official website ( and votes from the Premier League Award Panel.

The deadline for the fans to vote is 9 May, 18:00 BST


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.